American Sociological Association

ASA 2020 Election

The American Sociological Association announces the 2020 slate of candidates for ASA Officers, Council, Committee on Committees, Committee on Nominations, and Committee on Publications. Ballots for the 2020 ASA election will be distributed to eligible members in April 2020. Voting will close on May 29, 2020.

Vote for 1; the elected person will be President-Elect in August 2020, President in August 2021, and Past President in August 2022.                              
              Michael Hout, New York University
              Cecilia Menjívar, University of California-Los Angeles
Vote for 1; the elected person will be Vice President-Elect in August 2020, Vice President in August 2021, and Past Vice President in August 2022.                                  
              Nina Bandelj, University of California, Irvine
              Amanda Lewis, University of Illinois at Chicago
Council Members-at-Large                                      
Vote for 4; elected will serve from August 2020 to August 2023.                              
              Jessica Calarco, Indiana University
              Charles Gallagher, La Salle University
              Gilda Ochoa, Pomona College
              Daisy Reyes, University of Connecticut
              Deana Rohlinger, Florida State University
              Van Tran, The Graduate Center, City University of New York
              Natasha Warikoo, Tufts University
Committee on Committees (Members-at-Large)                                           
Vote for 2; elected will serve from June 2020 to December 2021. 
              Anthony Hatch, Wesleyan University
              Neda Maghbouleh, University of Toronto
              Alyasah "Ali" Sewell, Emory University
              Jiannbin Shiao, University of Oregon
Committee on Committees (PhD Granting Institution)                                
Vote for 1; elected will serve from June 2020 to December 2021. 
              Waverly Duck, University of Pittsburgh
              Amy Hsin, Queens College 
Committee on Committees (Non-Teaching Institution)                               
Vote for 1; elected will serve June 2020 to December 2021. 
              Steven Boutcher, Law and Society Association
              Jenny Irons, William T. Grant Foundation
Committee on Nominations                     
Vote for 5; elected will serve June 2020 to December 2021.                                      
              Pamela Bennett, University of Maryland
              Rodney Coates, Miami University
              Cynthia Feliciano, Washington University in St. Louis
              Nilda Flores-Gonzalez, Arizona State University
              Fatma Müge Göçek, University of Michigan
              Elaine Hernandez, Indiana University
              Tiffany Joseph, Northeastern University
              Michael D. Kennedy, Brown University
              Jennifer Mueller, Skidmore College
              Allison Pugh, University of Virginia
Committee on Publications                                     
Vote for 3; elected will serve from September 2020 to August 2023.                                
              Marlese Durr, Wright State University
              Gary Alan Fine, Northwestern University
              Damon Phillips, Columbia University
              Martin Ruef, Duke University
              Saher Selod, Simmons University
              Joel Stillerman, Grand Valley State University


Additional candidates may be added via petition. Petitions supporting additional candidates for the offices of President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, and Secretary must be signed by at least 100 voting-eligible ASA members; petitions for additional candidates for the other positions must be signed by at least 50 voting-eligible members. All petitions must be submitted by December 20, 2019 (within 30 days after the initial announcement to the membership). Associate members are eligible to vote only for their section elections. Membership must be active as of March 31, 2020 to receive a ballot. If you have any questions regarding the election, please email 

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership