American Sociological Association

Committee on Sections

The Committee on Sections (COS) is responsible for guiding the Association on the administration of sections. COS advises the ASA Council on policy regarding Sections, section activities, evaluates and makes recommendations to ASA Council on the formation and continuation of Sections, annually reviews section activities, and serves as liaison between sections and ASA Council.

The Committee on Sections is composed of nine members, each serving a staggered three-year term. Of the nine members, three members are nominated by the Committee on Committees then appointed by the Council, three members are appointed by Council from among Council At-Large members, and three members (one each from a small, medium, and large-sized section) are elected by section chairs.   

Name Begin End Position
Jessica L. Collett 1/1/2019 12/31/2021 Member
Julie A. Dowling 1/1/2018 12/31/2020 Member
Elizabeth A. Hoffmann 1/1/2019 12/31/2019 Chair
Lisa A. Keister 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member
Erin Kelly 9/1/2017 8/31/2020 Council Liaison
Shamus Rahman Khan 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member
Chinyere Osuji 1/1/2019 12/31/2021 Member
Jennifer A. Reich 9/1/2018 8/31/2021 Council Liaison

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership