American Sociological Association

ASA Awards

Each year, ASA recognizes a wide range of contributions to the sociological discipline. Honoring the best, ASA presents awards for outstanding scholarship, teaching, practice, and public understanding of sociology. 

2020 ASA Award Winners

Learn About Each Award

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award

Dissertation Award

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award

Distinguished Scholarly Book Award

Excellence in the Reporting of Social Issues Award

Jessie Bernard Award

Public Understanding of Sociology Award 

W.E.B. DuBois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award


A new timeline for reviewing nominations and selecting winners will be implemented beginning in 2021. To transition to the new timeline, no nominations will be accepted for all other ASA awards in 2020. 

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership