American Sociological Association

ASA Footnotes

A publication of the American Sociological AssociationASA News & Events
January/February 2020

Announcing the 2020 ASA Award Winners

The ASA is pleased to announce our 2020 award recipients. Awardees will be honored during a ceremony on August 9 at the 2020 ASA Annual Meeting in San Francisco.  

We extend congratulations to the following honorees:

Cox-Johnson-Frazier Award

Vilna Bashi Treitler, University of California-Santa Barbara 

This award is given to an individual or individuals for their work in the intellectual traditions of the work of Oliver Cox, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. 

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology

Patricia Fernandez-Kelly, Princeton University 

This award recognizes work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others; work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as a whole; or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award

Brian Powell, Indiana University- Bloomington 

Michael Schwartz, Stony Brook University 

This award is given to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology.

Distinguished Scholarly Book Award

Trans Kids, Being Gendered in the Twenty-First Century by Tey Meadow, Columbia University

Pathways of Desire, The Sexual Migration of Mexican Gay Men by Hector Carrillo, Northwestern University 

Honorable Mention: Multinational Maids, Stepwise Migration in a Global Labor Market by Anju Mary Paul, Yale-NUS College 

This award is given to the single best book published in the three preceding calendar years.

Jessie Bernard Award

Jennifer Glass, University of Texas

This award is given in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society and honors those who have demonstrated significant cumulative work throughout a professional career.

Public Understanding of Sociology Award 

Tressie McMillan Cottom, Virginia Commonwealth University 

This award is given annually to honor those who have made exemplary contributions to advance the public understanding of sociology, sociological research, and scholarship among the general public.

W.E.B. Du Bois Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award

Aldon Morris, Northwestern University 

This award honors scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline.

Dissertation Award

Announced in June 2020